Jewel in the Crown

Jewel in the Crown, by Maya Garcia.
Jewel in the Crown, by Maya Garcia.

Feelings don’t change,

You just get tired of waiting

For something to happen,

And playing out this losing game.

My Achilles heel.

I am independent,

I wait for no man,

But if you called

I’d still swoon.

And anyway

Why should I be the one

Living in a lover’s tomb?

Waiting…

Putting my heart out on the fishing line,

When you hardly even give me your time?

It’s not like you’re even mine,

So why do I still care?

You will always be

My Achilles heel,

Even though you’re not there.

Cut me and I

Drip diamonds.

The glitter splatters everywhere,

Pouring out from my veins,

I bleed

Just the same.

Emerald green

And baby blue,

The jewels in the crown

Of my youth

Still shine

Down on my head,

Glittering, gleaming

A solitary ray of light,

In this cold and empty bed.

Leave a Reply

