‘Troublemaker’ is at it again: My case for Bernie Sanders

So once again, I am engaging in a subject I have spent very little time, effort or energy on in the past, politics. Not because I love the game of it, let alone some of the tactics employed by most politicians to get ahead, or because I find it intriguing. No, I detest that side of politics. I am writing about politics because I want to use my voice to share my truth, and explain to potentially undecided voters why I genuinely believe that it is imperative that they do go out and vote, first of all, and that they should seriously consider choosing to vote for Bernie Sanders, secondly.
Let me be clear; unlike some of Sanders’ supporters, I am NOT anti-Hillary Clinton. However, while I believe she would try to enact some good common-sense domestic and foreign policies, I don’t believe she would go nearly far enough for my personal comfort level.

I believe that we need a fundamental, systematic change in the way we conduct our business both at home, and overseas, and I think that 99.9% of the politicians I’ve seen have too much of a vested interest in seeing our current way of doing business remain mostly unchanged. That includes Hillary Clinton, I’m afraid.

That’s the short answer. I could go more into detail, but I will leave that up to the experts. I’m just shooting from the hip here, and explaining why I believe Bernie Sanders is the best option we’ve got if we want real change in this country, and in our world, not just lip service.
Why should you care, and get out the vote? Why get involved? Isn’t Bernie Sanders just a politician, like the rest of them? Well, yes, technically. But think of it this way; considering the fact that Bernie Sanders didn’t take a single dime of campaign money from a Super-Pac, (according to Wikipedia, it is “a political action committee (PAC) is a type of organization that pools campaign contributions from members and donates those funds to campaign for or against candidates, ballot initiatives, or legislation.” Basically, it’s a coalition designed to accept unlimited funds for whatever causes or politicians they support.) Yes, I had to look it up too, don’t be embarrassed if you didn’t know what that was either!) it stands to reason that he won’t allow the pushy agendas of lobbyist organizations to dictate his policies when he becomes the President of the United States. Yes, that may seem naïve and simplistic, but get this; he is actually consistent with both his word, and his voting record in the U.S. Senate. He even took on our current President’s choice for an appointee to the F.D.A. (and I love me some Obama!) Why did he do that? Because he didn’t trust that this appointee wouldn’t do some dirty dealings on the side with his former compatriots in Big Pharma, that’s why. How’s that for putting your money where your mouth is? It takes guts to ignore the handouts and temptations of big money lobbyists, and to be willing to stand alone, with only the courage of your convictions to guide you, and Bernie does that, consistently.

Bernie frequently and simultaneously tears down the ivory towers of corporate America, and builds up the disenfranchised, underserved and oppressed. That’s pretty punk rock to begin with. Then he concludes his speech at end of the Iowa caucuses by playing David Bowie’s ‘Starman’ whilst he exits the stage. I’ve got to admit, that is pretty damn rock star.

But here’s the deal; even if you disagree with me, and think that Hillary Clinton, or god forbid, a Republican candidate should be the next President of the United States, it is imperative that you get to the polls, or fill out that absentee ballot and vote. Why? Because there are too many crucial issues being decided on, just above our collective noses, and we need to speak up and make our voices heard, because most politicians are counting on us not getting involved in our own system, so that things can remain status quo. And frankly, status quo just isn’t good enough anymore, for anyone other than the top 1%.

So, if you want to side with the billionaire class, sure…go right ahead, stay home on Election Day. And in the meantime you can watch your lives, livelihoods and the world around you slowly corrode even further. Sounds bleak, but it’s the truth. Not getting involved is simply not an option anymore if you care about anyone or anything other than yourself. And if you do, cool. You don’t get to have a say, as far as I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

