Not One More

I will not be silenced
And I will not be shamed, or blamed

For your denial and dis-ease,

I do not care about your agendas or lust for power and greed-

I WILL proceed

To speak up and fight for justice 

For those whose voices have been decimated,

Rape is a symptom

Of a sick culture,

It’s high time to take it to the doctor-

The prescription is alienation

From subjugation. 

Get it straight, 

I do not hate men,

But I will defend

The rights of other women…period! 

We live,

We exist,

We breathe the same air as you,

Get it through your heads,

This epidemic isn’t going away

Until we ALL are given the right to stay

In a space that’s free from harm,

This is no false alarm,

It is a declaration of war

On sexual violence, injustice and it’s our fight

To even the score,

Not by vengeance, but by righteous action…

Not.one.more.

4 thoughts on “Not One More

  1. Really strong message, thanks for sharing.
    I was wondering if I could include this post in a book I’m working on with my mum about sexual abuse survivors? I’d love for you to share your story.
    We want this topic not to be taboo. We’re encouraging people to speak up about it, that’s it not their fault and they’re not alone. We hope it will be a resource also to help people know what options they have.
    About 15 people have contributed their story so far and I’d love to include yours. Copyright stays with you, you can be anonymous if you want. Contributors receive a free pdf copy of the book, and ebooks will be for sale. Hopefully a print book as well.
    You may enter your story or anything relating to your experience as well if you’d like. There are also interview questions you are welcome to answer.
    Feel free to ask any questions: wordslikesilk@gmail.com
    For more info you can check out this post: https://sapphirelifewriter.wordpress.com/2016/08/10/sharing-my-experience-of-shame-fear-and-confusion/
    Thanks so much for considering being part of this project to help girls and women around the world.
    JD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi JD,

      Yes, I’d be honored if you shared this. Thank you for asking! All I ask is that you please link if possible to my author page (or this WordPress blog.) Thank you!

      – MAYA Garcia, Author.

      Like

      1. Yay, I’m so glad. Thank you. I would love to include that info but we just can’t due to privacy issues. We don’t want to be liable for any stalking or unwanted visitors to people’s blogs, especially if contributors are underage. I’m not sure if we’re being too careful, but especially with this topic involving other people, we just want to be on the safe side in terms of legalities and protection.
        Got your email, and will respond shortly.

        Like

      2. Hey again, just checking in. Were you still okay for me to include your post? And we just the interview back asap. Deadline was 30th September, so we were hoping to give people one more week from the time of contact. If there are any problems, please let me know. Hope we can include you. Thanks heaps.

        Like

Leave a Reply

