The Revolution Continues…with Hillary

I’m about to fly away to not-so-sunny Portland, for a well-deserved vacation, but before I go, I want to impart my wisdom, gained from being on this planet 42 years this lifetime, and many more in previous ones. Yes, reincarnation is a strongly-held belief, based on experiential knowledge, but I digress. What I want to share with you all is how and why I have decided to enthusiastically support Hillary Clinton, after having spent a year giving my time, money, love, creative skills and putting blood, sweat and tears into the candidate I believed in, heart and soul- Bernie Sanders. Am I still wistful whenever I see him on television, especially when he talks about ‘our revolution,’ and his campaign for President? Abso-freaking-lutely. Am I still a little sore when I think back to some of the tactics used by Hillary’s campaign during the primary season. Some of it was downright abusive towards my fellow Bernie supporters, or ‘Berners.’ I also don’t condone the way in which the media was clearly biased towards Hillary from day one, or the lack of transparency, which is in part a huge reason why the general public still has difficulty in trusting her. And although I don’t hold her completely responsible for Whitewater or some of the other scandals that have haunted her, I do hold her responsible for some questionable views on LGBT rights, fracking, and the use of military force. Thankfully, she SEEMS to be open to changing her stance on things, hopefully because she thinks it’s the right thing to do, and not just because it’s politically expedient. Believe me, I’m not going into this with my eyes closed, not at all.

As two of my heroes, Bernie Sanders and Elizabeth Warren, have both said, we need to go into this Presidency ready to carry on fighting for what we hold most dear- the interests of the greater good, the 99%. But…here’s the reason why I was finally convinced that voting for Hillary Clinton was not only the safest, but the SANEST choice, and not only because she’s the only alternative to Donald Trump who could actually win the race. No, I believe in Hillary, for several reasons that mean a great deal to me. And here’s why:

1. She has built a career and a reputation on fighting for women’s and children’s rights. Since day one, she has had an almost flawless track record of standing up for both. As a survivor of childhood sexual and ritual abuse and domestic abuse, and an unapologetic feminist, I wholeheartedly believe that she will further advance our cause towards equality, and justice for survivors of all kinds of abuse, and hopefully even further our efforts to stop abuse and the cycle of violence towards women in our generation. That alone should be almost enough to convince me to vote for her, but I still had some deep concerns.

2. On the issue of the environment, I had some deep concerns about Hillary’s choices in the past regarding fracking and offshore drilling for fossil fuels. Our time is limited when it comes to how much longer we have to save our planet and its resources from irreversible damage and depletion. I think she finally understands that not only is climate change a reality, but that it is imperative to our survival as a species that we move to a 100% green economy, ASAP. I think she finally has listened to our concerns on these issues, based on her answers to previous questions on this topic, both in interviews and on the debate stage. To me, this has to be at the top of the list of priorities. It’s pointless to deal with pretty much any other subject outside of war if we’re fighting a terminal illness on our planet. We need to find the cure, and we need to find it fast.

3. She listens, and understands- I wasn’t always able to see these qualities in her, because I was too angry about her collusion with the D.N.C. to undermine Bernie’s campaign during the primaries, but I’ve noticed these qualities over the last few months. In spite of her flaws, she is capable of compassion, understanding and listening to our concerns, and she can be moved to change not only her views, but her actions accordingly. These are vital qualities to good leadership, as far as I’m concerned.

4. The platform- Bernie, Elizabeth, and so many others worked damn hard to get an agenda passed by the Democratic Party that was SO progressive, it literally changed history, and brought the party back to the better part of its roots. It brought the Dems back to their labor movement of the earlier part of the 20th century. I know that Bernie, Elizabeth and the rest of us will fight to ensure that this platform is elected right alongside the candidate for President, and that it is implemented. And the best part is, that we still will live in a democracy IF she wins, so if she doesn’t hear our demands and IF Congress doesn’t turn in a more progressive direction we can still go with another candidate in four years’ time. The revolution hasn’t ended, folks, it’s just getting started.

There are many more issues that I’d like to address at another time in the near future, but I do hope that you, dear reader, have at least put down your virtual weapons for just a moment to read my little think piece, and take it in with respect for a fellow, diehard Bernie supporter. I hope that it will give you some pause to rethink your decision to vote third party or god forbid, Trump (*shudder,*) especially for that last reason I gave, if nothing else. And to paraphrase what Oprah said, (I don’t believe I’m actually quoting Oprah), you don’t have to like Hillary, but you DO have to vote for her. Why? Because this isn’t about you, it’s about US- ALL of us, even the ones you disagree with, and don’t particularly like. Because your girl Jill doesn’t have a shot in hell of winning – yes, I finally had to put my weapons down too, and admit that a third party win just wasn’t going to happen this time.

And for those of you who’ve accused me of ‘selling out’ for switching my allegiance from Jill Stein to Hillary Clinton, I have a few pieces of advice for you. Never aSSume anything about what is in someone’s heart or mind unless you know their whole story, ok? Note that I capitalized the spelling on aSSume on purpose, and read that as you will. I am 100% dedicated to Bernie’s message and mission, and that will never, EVER change, even beyond his legacy, and his lifetime. So please get over your egos for just a hot minute, and consider the harsh truth- Jill Stein does not have enough public support OR votes to win this election, period. I don’t care how harshly you criticize the Clintons or bitch about the primaries, ok? Just go out and vote for her. Because if you don’t you are not a true Bernie Sanders supporter, in my opinion, and you have no respect for OUR revolution.

There, I said it. Guess what? I’m a ‘nasty woman’ too, and proud of it. Life has taught me that sometimes you have to be a bit of a bitch, and put your foot so firmly down on the ground it causes an earthquake, when it comes to standing up for what you believe in.

Don’t like it, don’t care. That’s my motto, and I’m sticking to it. But bottom line, you DO have to vote. This is not negotiable. I will hold you personally responsible if you don’t vote, or waste your vote, by writing in Bernie (hello, he said not to do it), voting third party, or worse…voting for that sexual predator, Donald Trump. This is not a game or a threat, it is a promise. This is not.about.you. It’s about US. How many more times do I have to remind you of what our champion, Bernie Sanders has said? He meant it, and so do I. You don’t have to like it, but you do have to do it if you really do believe in our revolution. Put your money where your mouth is, and vote for Hillary, this time. The rest is up to US.image

Leave a Reply

